2.13 Apologies

Dakota’s POV

“Dakota Nicole Barringer!” my mother shouted to me. I had just told her the news about Crimson and I and she wasn’t happy with it. “I cannot believe you.”

“I’m sorry, Mom. I hadn’t slept and I guess…I don’t know,” I replied.

“He could always cheat on you again! And then where would we be? Do you even know why he did that?” I looked down. I hadn’t really thought about that, had I?

“I…no…” I said, disappointed in myself.

“Well, you better find that out before marrying him again. I don’t want to see you heartbroken. And the girls are getting to the age that they remember things. I don’t want you making it hard for them, either. And Aaron, too.” I thought about my kids. She was right. I had to make sure he wouldn’t do any of those things to me ever again.

“Okay, Mom,” I said. “I’ll talk to him about it.”

“Thank you, D.”

Crimson’s POV

I was working out in front of the TV and Dakota came out of the triplets room.

“Crimson,” she said. I turned off the TV and looked at her. “It’s about us…” Oh no.

We sat down on the couch and she started talking. “I was talking to my mom, she’s a little disappointed in me for getting engaged to you again, for obvious reasons…” She sighed. “And we were just wondering…why did you cheat on my in the first place?”

I sighed. “You want to know the truth?” She nodded. “Well, I am an excitement junkie, as you know. And honestly, you and the triplets, weren’t exciting enough for me. Then one night, after I got home from work and everyone else was asleep. Desiree sort of seduced me, did a little dance and I was in. I didn’t even know why I did it. I just…”

“Don’t,” she said. “Do you regret it?”

“Yes. Everyday.”

“Do you love her?” She was choking on every word she spat out. This was a hard conversation for her. I felt awful.

“No. I’ve never loved her. It’s always been you, D. Always.”

“Are you lying?” She was looking me straight into my eyes. I looked deep into her blue eyes, her mother’s. They were gorgeous (and no, I’m not saying I find Danielle attractive).

“No. You remember the first day of school in 7th grade and I was the awkward new kid?” She nodded. “You were the only one that talked to me. You were the only one that acknowledged my existence at that stupid school. I still remember the first words you told me. ‘It’s at the top of the 400 wing.’ I literally fell in love then. It was like something inside me just clicked and I knew you were the one I was going to marry. No matter what happened.” She didn’t believe me, I could tell. “Dakota, I swear on my mother’s life I’m not lying to you. I promise I will never ever do anything to hurt you ever again.”

She gulped. “I…Crimson…I…can’t believe this.”

“What?”

“You really love me that much?” he asked.

“Yes.” We looked at each other and smiled.

(A/N: Okay, so I just took like 20-30 shots of them sitting there smiling at each other. For some reason, I just think you can really see their love for each other in some of them…maybe I’m just deep, but I think they’re adorable, hence why I put three pictures)

“Well, I have to get, Aaron,” Dakota said, as she got up and got our son out of his high chair.

Then the doorbell rang. “Crimson, can you get that?” Dakota asked.

“Got it,” I said. I opened the door and Desiree was standing in front of me.

“Desiree, what are you doing here?”

Dakota walked outside.

“What do you want?” she said, with a straight face. I almost laughed out loud.

“A little harsh, don’t you think, Dakota?” Desiree replied.

“Not really. Considering you, ya know, slept with my husband.”

“Really, you’re still mad about that?”

“Yeah, just a little. I’ve been nothing but the nicest sister to you and then you go and sleep with him. I cannot believe you.”

“Okay then, Dakota…whatever.”

“Don’t ‘whatever’ me. You just want it to be about you. You always have ever since the day you were born. With Dad it was all about you and with Mom it was all about you. I suffered from chronic insomnia, Desiree! But no one cared because it was all about YOU. And the funny thing is Des, where are you now? Oh yeah, LIVING IN A UNDERGROUND HOUSE WITH TWO ROOMS.”

“Dakota, shut up.”

“Oh yeah and, Desiree, one more thing,” I said. “I’m engaged.”

“Engaged? To who?” she said.

“Dakota Nicole Barringer.”

“Seriously!? I’m leaving. I just wanted to say hello to my dang parents. I didn’t know I’d get a lecture from my older sister.”

Desiree walked off, getting into her car. We watched her drive off.

“SHE’S GONE!” Dakota yelled. “Oh, thank you, Crimson!!!”

“What did I do? That was all you.”

“Do you think she’ll come back?”

“Heck no. You’ll never see her again.”

“Yes!!!” She hugged me and I swear at that moment, I couldn’t have been happier.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 2.13 Apologies

  1. Roxy says:

    Nice. Dakota was too harsh on her sister though. Even though it was kind of her fault that Crimson cheated on Dakota, it takes two to tango. Crimson basically said that his life with Dakota bores him. She should have realized that and forgiven her sister.

    • Lexi says:

      But you have to realize where Dakota is coming from. Thanks to her sister, her life was hell for years. Sure, it was partially Crimson’s fault, too, but if you really love someone it’s impossible for you to be really mad at them and that’s the kind of love Dakota has for Crimson.
      Plus, she was a little mad, she just wasn’t expressing it as much as she was when she was talking to Desiree.

  2. callierose says:

    Aww yay, I’m glad they worked it out!!
    Oh and love the banner! 😀 that far right picture is sooo cute ❤ x

  3. Nightrain17 says:

    I feel kind of bad for Desiree and Dakota. I man I would be in pieces had it been me who was in either of their shoes. Crimson admitted something deep and I guess you have to respect his honesty. I’ve got my fingers crossed that everything goes right for them.
    And I do feel a little bit sorry for Desiree I mean I know where Dakota is coming from. If I was married and my sister slept with my husband there would be world war III.

    • Lexi says:

      Yeah, Crimson honesty was probably why Dakota didn’t let her angry out on him, he let it out on her sister. Yeah, I feel sorry Desiree, but I honestly thought she deserved it 😛

  4. snapcarolina says:

    Great chapter!
    First may I say, love the background and banner. The site looks great!
    Next. I’m personally very happy about Crimson, and I’m glad he got a shot to explain himself. I would like to hear Desiree’s side of the story, too… (;
    Love it! Can’t wait for more!
    x Carolina

Leave a comment